DemoChoice Web Poll

The deadline for this poll has passed. You may cast a ballot anyway to see who it would count for.

New Zealand, Waikouaiti Coast-Chalmers Ward, 2004
by DemoChoice rules
(Rank the candidates you support!)
1 candidate will be elected.
[add/drop] Andrew NOONE
[add/drop] Jan TUCKER
[add/drop] John NEILSON
[add/drop] Sue O'NEILL
| how it works | view results |
Try the less fancy ballot if this one fails.
Create your own DemoChoice poll!

This is an "instant runoff" poll, allowing voters to conveniently find a strongly supported winner from among many candidates, with minimal worries about "wasting" votes on weak candidates or "splitting" votes between similar candidates. Here's how it works:

  1. Each ballot is counted toward its highest-ranked remaining candidate.
  2. Does a candidate have a majority of counted votes?
    No: The last-place candidate is eliminated; go to step 1.
    Yes: The majority winner wins the election.